Now Streaming: #NewMusicFriday | Music | Pittsburgh | Pittsburgh City Paper
click to enlarge Mother Mother - PHOTO: JAMES O'MARA
Photo: James O'Mara
Mother Mother

So much music, so little time. To make your new music venture a little easier, every Friday, CP staff writer Jordan Snowden compiles songs, albums, and EPs that are now streaming with #NewMusicFriday. Check out what dropped this week.

JK Crowe - Buried
Buried was written in Crowe's home - a trailer behind his grandparents' house where the Appalachian Mountains spread into northeastern Georgia. Dying carpet factories, no record stores, fast food. Red maple trees, humidity, Camaros, eighteen wheeler rigs.

On a rare trip to Los Angeles, Crowe met Roofeo, drummer for TV On The Radio, and producer for the likes of Kanye West, Post Malone, DRAM, and Buddy. They listened through a few of Crowe's demos, and a week later, Crowe had pushed his flight so they could make the Buried EP together.

The resulting collection of songs sounds like Elliott Smith took an electric guitar, a keyboard, and a drum machine on a spaceship, traveling through the darkest, most dizzying parts of human consciousness. The songs on Buried are equal parts bleak and hopeful, delicate and strong, and a perfect introduction to a striking new voice.

Million Miles – Good Luck, Honey
Following a performance at New York City's Rockwood Hall on November 1, London based singer-songwriter Million Miles (born Sophie Baudry) has released her eagerly anticipated EP Good Luck Honey.

Featuring previously released singles "Honey," "Just Dumb Luck," "Something Good," and "In A Good Way," Good Luck, Honey is an optimistically soulful body of work that boasts current and timeless themes. Channeling the music she grew up listening to – Carole King, Bill Withers, Marvin Gaye – Million Miles evokes the likes of Nilufer Yanya, Leon Bridges, and Lake Street Dive through her rich, effortless voice.

Good Luck, Honey is the follow-up to Million Miles’ 2017 release Berry Hill, which has amassed over 3 million streams and included the single "Ice Cream & Cigarettes," which shot to No.2 on the Spotify U.S. Viral Chart.

Devil Master - Manifestations

Philadelphia's Devil Master have been spitting in the face of convention since forming in 2016 with their raw, twisted brand of death rock meets black metal punk mayhem. They release Manifestations, a compilation of their full catalog, two sold out demos from 2016 and 2017 (Tape & Inhabit the Corpse); all remixed, remastered and sounding more malevolent than before.

Devil Master will release their debut full-length album in early 2019. The band just wrapped recording in Philadelphia with producer Arthur Rizk (Code Orange, Power Trip, Volahn).

Tenacious D - Post-Apocalypto

Acclaimed rock duo Tenacious D — comprised of Jack Black and Kyle Gass — have released the final chapter of Post-Apocalypto (the series) as well as the complete album of the same name.

Post-Apocalypto is an original, six-part animated video series from the minds of Tenacious D. Each frame of every episode was hand-drawn by Black himself, with every character voiced by Black and Gass. The series finale is out now, via Tenacious D's YouTube page.

Mother Mother – Dance and Cry

Vancouver-based band Mother Mother, whose new album, Dance and Cry was released today, also announced an extensive North American tour.

Dance and Cry features 12-tracks, all of which were written by lead singer Ryan Guldemond and produced by Guldemond and Ben Kaplan. The songs on Dance and Cry have an organic, stripped-down sound that reflects the bands earlier material and share themes of survival, self-reflection, sorrow, and happiness.

"Get Up" the lead single off the album has been met with much fanfare, impressively nabbing the title of most added song at Canada Alternative Rock radio in its first week of release. The track was just serviced to U.S. Alternative radio on October 31.

LCD Soundsystem –  “(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang”

LCD Soundsystem have released their version of Heaven 17’s 1981 classic “(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang,” the first track to be made available from their forthcoming Electric Lady Sessions, due out later this year via Columbia Records/DFA.

Recorded live in its namesake studio, Electric Lady Sessions captures LCD Soundsystem at the height of the band’s powers during the tour supporting their American Dream album.

Comments (0)
Comments are closed.