Pittsburgh City Paper | Comment Archives | Locations | Restaurants | 2 Stars

Narrow Search

Comment Archives: Locations: Restaurants: 2 Stars

Re: “Panera Bread

Recently, at The Pointe in Robinson Township my Frontega Chicken Panini was very sloppily made and had very little chicken on it. My daughters soup (And I've had this problem at numerous locations) had no noodles in it - Chicken NOODLE soup. I spend a lot of money at Panera Bread in the area. My daughter loves the chicken noodle soup bowls and I'm tired of feeling like I am paying top dollar for food that is sub par. Previous complaints made online yielded NO reply from company. I may not visit again for a long time, if ever.

In addition, at numerous stores I have seen the tables are not being kept wiped off which is frustrating when you are carrying a tray and need an acceptable place in which to eat.

Posted by Tired on 11/25/2016 at 10:41 PM

Re: “Jozsa Corner

I started off going to write a really bad review because I really didn't like the food. And as for atmosphere, this place is a hole in the wall, literally. There is a hole punched through the wall from the entrance (which looks like an old bar) to the room where you eat . You have to squeeze through the kitchen area also to get to the room with the tables.Our party of 3, were the only customers in the place for Saturday at lunchtime so I'm not sure if that affected the food that was served. I have to say that the bread that was served was great, chewy, crusty and warm. The second serving was a homemade chicken soup that was also great tasting but was full of bones. If you have children don't let them have the soup unless you check it first and carefully. Some of the bones were very small. The next was halushki which was ok, but very greasy. Then some kind of potato dish with paprika and vinegar.I didn't like this sour dish at all. then came pork and sauerkraut, chicken and noodles, both of which I had to ask what it was because the meat was just a condiment in these. There was no meat pieces bigger than your fingernail.Somewhere in the mix a cucumber salad was served and it was wonderful. Nothing was served fresh, except the bread, everything was pre made and heated up for our meal. For this meal we were charged $20 each, and mostly our food was cabbage, noodles (not homemade) and canned sauerkraut flavored with meat bits and paprika but there was lots of it. I admit that I don't know much about Hungarian food so I looked up multiple web sites for Hungarian recipes and what was made seems authentic and I'm sure that his grandmother had to use little meat to make ends meet, but I would have liked it better
to have less food with better quality food.

1 like, 4 dislikes
Posted by Twofatladies on 06/06/2013 at 6:15 AM

Re: “El Campesino

Food is ok, service is very slow & wait staff not attentive. Had to sit for 20 minutes waiting for a drink while the server ate his dinner. No wonder the place was a ghost town during the "dinner rush." Will not go back.

Posted by Anon on 04/24/2013 at 9:32 PM

Re: “Grand Concourse Restaurant

I don't understand why I can't get a baked potato with my steak?

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Marc Lawrence on 11/23/2012 at 1:12 PM

Re: “Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse

Valentine's Day Meal Massacre! First and last time at Hyde Park, Pgh. for any type of food service. Cons:Staff- Servers took NO pride in giving good service, provided only minimal information on menu choices, were not at all attentive to simple needs ie: beverage refills, satisfaction of food, preparation of food, our server actually got thru the entire coffee service without even looking at me or my husband (a heater or refill...FORGET ABOUT IT). Food - My husband ordered ribeye which had quarter size areas of fat, flavorless and luke warm, I had 7oz filet and crab cakes also flavorless and not even close to acceptable temp, flourless choc cake ummmm...not at all worth calories!!! Manager on Duty: told the table beside us you can't get near the place during a Steeler game, the bar was 5 deep (ok..that's 8 days a year if you don't count pre-season), they gave a $20 GC nice gesture on Valentine's Day and he made a big deal about being able to use it on alcohol too (just don't come on Steeler Game Day). Pros: It has a nice open but at the same time intimate atmosphere, drinks were pricey but good and of course it's in the great city of Pittsburgh! ps: Valet service-friendly, fast and polite!

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by slee on 02/14/2012 at 10:57 PM

Re: “Remember When Ice Cream

OK ice cream. Not the best neighborhood to say the least. Fair service if you like to eat beside someone smoking a cigarette. Would not come here again unless it was for take out.

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Ice Cream Lover on 01/11/2012 at 12:26 PM

Spotlight Events

  • Johnny Hates 45s, Fortune Teller, Water Trash, Pachyderm @ The Mr. Roboto Project

    • Thu., Nov. 23, 7 p.m.
  • Abraham Lincoln Exhibit @ Photo Antiquities Museum of Photographic History

    • Mondays, Wednesdays-Saturdays. Continues through Dec. 31
    • 1 going/interested
  • Pittsburgh 10(+2) @ BoxHeart Gallery

    • Tuesdays-Sundays. Continues through Jan. 12

© 2017 Pittsburgh City Paper

Website powered by Foundation

National Advertising by VMG Advertising